Transplantation News and Comment

Mycophenolate and lower graft function reduce the seroresponse of kidney transplant recipients to pandemic H1N1 vaccination. I think a lot more research needs to be done to predict what the response will be to vaccination. In my personal experience pneumonia vaccines work almost too well, flu about normal, and HepA and B are very short-lived. Now that I’ve dropped Prograf and added MMF I’m not sure how things will change, which makes me a little nervous.

Any time a virus integrates itself I find it fascinating. Chromosomally integrated human herpesvirus-6 in transplant recipients

Randomized Controlled Trial of Sirolimus for Renal Transplant Recipients at High Risk for Nonmelanoma Skin Cancer. Theoretically lower cancer rates was one of the reasons I switched to SRL years ago so it’s nice to see the research is confirming.

Conversion from Cyclosporine to Everolimus at 4.5 Months Posttransplant: 3-Year Results from the Randomized ZEUS Study. From everything I’ve read, the earlier the conversion the worse the results. This is still on the early end in my opinion.

Please leave a relevant comment.

