That Damn Zuckerberg!

As much as I dislike Facebook and by extension Mark Zuckerberg, he’s making it more and more difficult to keep disliking him. He may be an elitist megalomaniac but his maneuvers to effectively maintain control like a private company while going public are damn near admirable and now, I think this has pushed me over the edge: Zuckerberg’s Hoodie a ‘Mark of Immaturity,’ Analyst Says “…I think he’s got to show them the respect that they deserve because he’s asking them for their money.”

Granted, I think Zuckerberg should give greater consideration to the interests of the Facebook employees hoping to cash in on this bonanza while he’s conducting the dog and pony show, but the new investors? How can anyone respect someone who buys into a company where they will have no control whatsoever, with a CEO who has basically said he doesn’t really care about making money, and that the only reason for the IPO is so insiders can cash out? Why is he showing no respect? Because he can – and the hordes will still scramble to get in – and because you don’t deserve any, morons.

There have been a few issues with user numbers and other minutiae but so far this has really been about the most honest, WYSIWYG IPO I can remember. Maybe that’s a very low hurdle but, particularly in an era of rampant fraud, it’s hard for me to find fault with that…no matter how much I want to. So I reluctantly knight you, Sir Mark of Immaturity. Godspeed.

******UPDATE 05/22/2012********

The final paragraph is amended as follows:

There have been a few issues with user numbers and other minutiae but so far this has really been about the most honest, WYSIWYG IPO I can remember. Maybe that’s a very low hurdle but, particularly in an era of rampant fraud, Despite clumsier than usual handling of the wink-wink, nudge-nudge asymmetric IPO information release process, it’s hard for me to find fault with that…no matter how much I want to. So I reluctantly knight you, Sir Mark of Immaturity. Godspeed.

One thought on “That Damn Zuckerberg!

  1. Pingback: And The Ruling Is… | Mortality Sucks

Please leave a relevant comment.

